Timetable icon Self-scheduling is currently available for select locations!

Corrective Eye Surgery

December 14, 2008

Did you see the end of the Steeler/Raven game today? Another quesionable call!  According to Chris Chase, the Ravens were Hochuli’d.  In his blog Shutdown Corner, on Yahoo he describes it perfectly:

“Pittsburgh had the ball on the Ravens’ 4-yard line, down by three points with 43 seconds left  the game. On a third-and-goal, Ben Roethlisberger threw a bullet to Santonio Holmes who caught the ball while standing in the end zone. However, Holmes reached across the goal line to catch the ball, leading officials to rule that it was to be spotted six inches from the end zone. After reviewing the replay, however, referee Walt Coleman awarded the touchdown to Pittsburgh, giving the following explanation:

“After reviewing the play, the receiver had two feet down in the end zone with possession of the ball, we have a touchdown.”

I’m no referee, but I’m pretty sure that having two feet down in the end zone makes not a touchdown. According to the official NFL Rulebook, a touchdown occurs “when any part of the ball, legally in possession of a player inbounds, breaks the plane of the opponent’s goal line, provided it is not a touchback.” The ball, in this case, didn’t cross the plane of the opponent’s goal line. Thus, it isn’t a touchdown. That Walt Coleman didn’t even mention a ball or a plane in his explanation is baffling.

Take a look at the picture. This is the first frame in which Holmes has clear possession of the ball. And that ball isn’t in the end zone.”

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.  I offer to perform free LASIK on any NFL ref in need of LASIK, who is a good candidate!!  Hey guys, get with it and give me a call!!

Back to our blog

Services offered at OCLI

Our world-class team of professionals at OCLI can help you with the latest treatment options for you.

Schedule an appointment

Are you a new patient? *